Carnegie Mellon University Home

Dietrich College News

Rebecca Nugent, associate professor of statistics, won the 2012-13 E.D. Smith Award for Distinguished Teaching and Educational Services. Nominations are now open for the 2013-14 award.

October 2013

Call for Nominations: 2014 E.D. Smith Award for Distinguished Teaching and Educational Service

Dietrich College is accepting nominations for the 2013-2014 Elliott Dunlap Smith Award for Distinguished Teaching and Educational Service. As implied by the title of the award, the leading criterion should be that a nominee shall have achieved distinction as a teacher and educator in the college, and perhaps, more broadly, also in the university, higher education in general, and/or his or her discipline.

Last year's winner of the Smith Award was Rebecca Nugent, associate professor of statistics. Nugent was recognized for establishing a reputation at Carnegie Mellon as a distinguished instructor and caring mentor and for developing and revising several upper-level statistics courses. Read the full story.

Preliminary nominations are due November 4, 2013 and should consist of a letter (2 pages, maximum, signed by at least three faculty, students, or staff), submitted to Joanne Ursenbach, c/o the Dietrich College Dean’s Office, Baker Hall 154.

A more detailed description of the award (plus guidelines for nominators whose candidate is selected as a finalist) can be found at

The complete list of previous winners of the Elliott Dunlap Smith Award for Distinguished Teaching and Educational Service:

2013 Rebecca Nugent, Statistics
2012 Bonnie Youngs, Modern Languages
2011 Sharon Carver, Psychology
2010 Yueming Yu, Modern Languages (2012 University Ryan Award winner)
2009 Kenneth Kotovsky, Psychology
2008 Oded Meyer, Statistics
2007 Larry Heimann, Information Systems Program
2006 Scott Sandage, History
2005 Anne Green, Modern Languages
2004 Susan Polansky, Modern Languages
2003 Silvia Borzutzky, Social and Decision Sciences
2002 Robert Cavalier, Philosophy
2001 Daniel Resnick, History
2000 G. Richard Tucker, Modern Languages (2007 University Doherty Award winner)
1999 Peggy Knapp, English (2003 Ryan Award Winner)
1998 Paul Fischbeck, Social and Decision Sciences (2010 University Ryan Award winner)
1997 James Daniels, English (1999 University Ryan Award winner)
1996 Eugene Levy, History
1995 John Miller, Social and Decision Sciences
1994 Michael West, Modern Languages (1995 University Ryan Award winner)
1993 Richard Young, English
1992 Peter Stearns, History (1995 University Doherty Award winner)
1991 Ann Hayes, English
1990 Margaret Clark, Psychology (1990 University Ryan Award Co-Winner)
1989 Richard Smith, Social and Decision Sciences
1988 Richard Schoenwald, History (1989 University Ryan Award Co-Winner)
1987 Joel Greenhouse, Statistics (1987 University Ryan Award Co-Winner)
1986 Ludwig Schaefer, History (1986 University Ryan Award Co-Winner) 1985 Lois Fowler, English
1984 Steven Klepper, Social and Decision Sciences (1997 University Ryan Award winner)
1983 Preston Covey, Philosophy
1982 Michael Weber, History (1983 University Ryan Award winner)
1981 John Hayes, Psychology
1980 Granville Jones, English (1980 University Ryan Award winner)

Stay connected with CMU's Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences on Twitter and Facebook.

Other sources of Carnegie Mellon news include the university news service website and the Carnegie Mellon Today magazine.

Contact Shilo Rea, Director of Public Relations at or (412) 268-6094.


About the Quick Links

Follow the Dietrich College on Twitter and Facebook.
Sign up to receive Dietrich College News, the college's monthly e-newsletter.

  Mapping the Future of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Carnegie Mellon University — which has a long history of the humanities and social sciences collaborating with other fields to solve problems — and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences held the first Pittsburgh-area discussion of the "Heart of the Matter" report and its implications for improving education and creating a sustainable global society. Read more.   Watch the video.  View photos.
  David Danks Appointed Head of Department of Philosophy
Danks has been selected to head CMU's Department of Philosophy, effective July 1, 2014. Danks, associate professor of philosophy and psychology, succeeds Richard Scheines, who is stepping down to become dean of the Dietrich College. Read more.
  Christopher R. Genovese To Head Department of Statistics
CMU has selected Genovese to head its Department of Statistics, a global leader in applying statistics to many areas of science, technology, policy and education, effective July 1, 2014. Genovese, professor of statistics, succeeds Mark Schervish, who has served as department head for the past 10 years Read more.
  Dietrich College News: March 2014
Features this month social media and the Mexican drug war, visual neuroscience, student scholarship winner, alumni profiles and much more. Read Dietrich College News.
  How the Internet and Social Media Have Shaped the "Drug War" in Mexico
In a new paper, Paul Eiss examines how both sides of the drug war — the cartel operatives as well as government and security forces — have used and responded to digital and social media. Read more.
  Jeria Quesenberry Wins Distinguished Teaching Award
Quesenberry, who joined the Information Systems (IS) Program in 2007, has become a key member of the IS faculty and has been intimately involved with all critical aspects of the program’s development and expansion both in Pittsburgh and Qatar. Read more.
  Student Wins Unprecedented Back-To-Back State Department Scholarships
The U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarships (CLS) are extremely competitive and coveted. When Dervla McDonnell (A, DC’15) was awarded one last year, it was quite an accomplishment. But now the junior fine art and Japanese Studies major has won a second scholarship, making her one of the very few to participate in the CLS Program for two years in a row. Read more.
  New Dietrich Honors Fellowship Program Announced
The program will provide summer funding support to rising seniors in the Dietrich College senior honors program as they undertake early-stage research and development of their thesis topics. Read more.
  Richard Scheines Appointed Dean of Dietrich College
Scheines, professor and head of the Department of Philosophy, has been selected to lead the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences as dean, effective July 1, 2014. He will succeed John Lehoczky, who has served as dean since 2000 and will return to the Department of Statistics’ faculty. Read more.
  Students, Alumni Attend Under Construction
Nearly 60 alumni returned to support 150 current students and help them build their careers. The second annual “Under Construction: Building Your Future” event encouraged students and alumni to explore the diverse fields available after graduation. Read more.
  Video: The Humanities at Carnegie Mellon University
The Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud to have distinguished faculty and talented students who are leading the humanities into the 21st century. In this short video, Dietrich College faculty, staff and alumni talk about the college’s excellence in the humanities. Watch the video.


H&SS Home | Admissions | Advising & Careers | Departments & Programs | Research | Computing & Libraries | News | Alumni

Site Index | About H&SS | Message from the Dean


Carnegie Mellon University
College of Humanities & Social Sciences | 5000 Forbes Avenue | Baker Hall 154 | Pittsburgh, PA 15213 | (412) 268-2830